Dark Side

Night Photography in Virginia

Dark Side – Exhibition

Dark Side: Night Photography in Virginia

Night holds a special place in the heart of photography. The geometry of light and shadow creates an interplay of mystery, possibility, and the forboding of the unknown.  Rather than looking at night photography as an extenstion of daytime shooting with added complications, night phoptographers embrace the unique challenges of nocturnal photography for the tremendous creative opportunitues it offers.

Due to the limited sensitivity of early photographic processes, exposure times were exceedingly long, even in the daytime. It wasn’t until 1878, when the first dry plate glass negative was introduced, with its greater sensitivity that opened the doors to night photography.  While many amateurs experimented with night photography in the 1880s, the earliest, artistically considered bodies of night images were made by Paul Martin in London in 1895 and soon after by Alfred Stieglitz in New York. The timing of this work was, in part, a response to the beauty of electric lights – a realtively recent innovation that had transformed the look of the urban night.  This fascination with incandescent street lighting can be seen in many of the night photos taken by Virginia photographer Harry C. Mann.

Advances in night photography have paralledled advances in photographic technology for the last hundred years, and as night photography has become increasingly more accessible, an ever-increasing number of photographers engage in the practice on a regular, rather than occassional or experiemental, basis. The exhibition will show how the art and technology of photography are linked, one often driving the other, and also explore some of the latest technologies of nighttime photography.

Drawn from the Library’s photograph collections, Dark Side: Night Photography in Virginia will include approximately fifty photographs, ranging from the 1890s to the present. The exhibit is shown in the first floor gallery at the Library of Virginia, June 10 through October 5, 2013. It is open to the public with free parking located under the Library.