Making History: Transcribe is made possible in part by federal funding provided through the Library Services and Technology Act program administered by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

Leaflet, "Recruiting: List of Commands, Military Districts and Regimental Areas"

image 4 of 8

Zoom in to read each word clearly.
Some images may have writing in several directions. To rotate an image, hold down shift-Alt and use your mouse to spin the image so it is readable.

This transcription is complete!

4 WESTERN COMMAND. Headquarters - CHESTER - contd.

No. 4 District. Headquarters - Shrewsbury - contd. Area - Shropshire, Hereford, Radnor. Corps - Shropshire Light Infantry. Depôt - Shrewsbury. Area - Newton Division of Lancashire, except North East portion; Widnes. Corps - South Lancashire Regiment. Depôt - Warrington

NORTHERN COMMAND. Headquarters - YORK. No. 5 District. Headquarters - York. Area - Parliamentary Divisions of Keighley, Shipley, Sowerby, Elland, Colne Valley, West half of Holmfirth, most of Pudsey, West half of Spen Valley. Corps - West Riding Regiment. Depôt - Halifax. Area - Parliamentary Divisions of Morley, East half of Holmfirth, Barnsley, Hallamshire, Rotherham, Doncaster, Osgoldcross, East half of Spen Valley. Corps - Yorkshire Light Infantry, York and Lancaster Regiment. Depôt - Pontefract. Area - Northumberland. Corps - Northumberland Fusiliers. Depôts - Newcastle-on-Tyne. Area - Durham. Corps - Durham Light Infantry. Depôt - Newcastle-on-Tyne. Area - Parliamentary Divisions of Skipton, Ripon, Otley, East half of Pudsey Division, major portion of Barkston Ash, S.E. portion of Thirsk and Malton. Corps - West Yorkshire Regiment. Depôts - York. Area - Parliamentary Divisions of Holderness, Buckrose, Howdenshire, portion of Barkston Ash. Corps - East Yorkshire Regiment. Depôt - Beverley. Area - Parliamentary Divisions of Richmond, Cleveland Whitby, major portion of Thirsk and Malton. Corps - Yorkshire Regiment. Depôt - Richmond.